Love & Life, The Album – Dok2 도끼


Disclaimer:  Rated Mature for crude language 

Love & Life, The Album, was released both physically and digitally in February 2012. Korean Rapper Dok2, in this project, showed a different side of himself. His Moniker which is now Young King Young Boss, came into fruition releasing his first solo album under Illionaire Records.

South Korean Rapper in All Black

  1. Love & Life (feat. Rado)
  2. Best Time (In Our Life)
  3. Let Me Love U
  4. 비밀 (Secret) 2 (feat. Zion.T)
  5. Plenty (feat. Jinbo)
  6. They Love Who?
  7. Leave Me Alone (Fuck You)
  8. Can’t Let You Go (feat. Bumkey)
  9. It’s Alright
  10. Lonely Nights
  11. 어제 같은 오늘 (Here Today, Gone Tomorrow)

Dok2 is known for his aggressive rapping style and trap oriented beats.  That’s as of late flooded the South Korean Hip Hop Scene.  But with love and life, he took on a softer approach.  With beat compositions and lyrics to match. He wanted to show the non-believers, why the ladies love Gonzo. They Love Who? is a testament to that.

A large portion of the beats were produced by the man himself. You can tell that a lot of time was put into this project. This album has a story! The cycle of break up.  A story that tons of people can probably relate to which makes it that much more meaningful.  And while he at times still displays the cockiness that I’ve come to associate with him, it works. People can be vindictive after a breakup.  They  Love Who? and Leave Me Alone are in my opinion, acts of self-preservation. It’s only natural to want to protect yourself.
All in all, this is a really good album. This is the type of album you can listen to from top to bottom and keep it in the rotation.  The featured vocalist brought these songs to a whole different level. While I enjoyed the entire project, I still have a few favorite tracks.

 비밀 (Secret) 2 (feat. Zion.T)  

Leave Me Alone (Fuck You)

Can’t Let You Go (feat. Bumkey)

Check out the album and let me know what you think?

Leave a Reply