After long and exciting weekend. Drey and I, got access to the CAPCOM LIVE! concert. This was my first encounter with CAPCOM LIVE!, to be honest, I didn’t know what to expect but as a CAPCOM fan, I was curious.  I grew up on Super Fighter. And Resident Evil, is hands down on of my favorite game franchises.  Add in Mega Man and Devil May Cry, taking all into account. And I’m a happy camper. Naturally, the music has been with me just as long.

So let’s get right into it.

CAPCOM LIVE! essentially, is a Capcom sponsored concert. Founded by Boston-based composer Shota Nakama. Unlike other orchestral style video game concerts, at its core, CL is a rock band with orchestral components.

Something that I found really interesting was, aside from the string section was the extended percussion section. Instead of just having a typical trap set (kick, snare, hi-hat, and toms ) associated with the typical rock band, they had addition strike based instruments.  I saw Congas, Bongos, and Tambourine, I even saw a gong.  I was low-key expecting claves to appear but to that didn’t.

But what more can I say, these ladies and gents know how to bring the house down!  The music selection was pretty dope.  On both sides of the stage, there were huge video monitors which played accompanied visuals for each song.  Close ups of the bands at other times.  Flashing stage lights, the works. The only thing that was missing was the pyrotechnics but to be honest, they didn’t really need them. They were electrifying on their own.

The lead vocalist even surprised us with a little cosplay.   But most importantly, the instrumentalist executed so well.  Their guitarist Masato Itoh was so on point, he popped his guitar strings.  Yes, I was blown away.
And the sound mixer, to my pleasant surprise, kept everything sounding marvelous.  No unnecessary feedback, clips or pops that I can recall off-hand. My ears were so very happy.  In live sound scenarios, I was taught that everything that can go wrong will go wrong. So prepping for it is a must.

There set list was amazing. For those curious, They performed songs from Ace Attorney, Devil May Cry, Mega Man, Okami, Resident Evil and Street Fighter.  They even incorporated some anime into the mix. Songs from One Piece and Attack on Titan.

Set from Concert (credits to Sumire Hirotsuru)

1) World Warrior (Street Fighter II)

2) Street Fighter II Medley
3) Main Theme (Street Fighter V)
4) Shall Never Surrender (Devil May Cry 4)
5) Objection (Ace Attorney)
6) Ace Attorney 6
7) Zinogre (Monster Hunter 4)
8) Proof of a Hero Pt.2 (Monster Hunter)
9) Cutman (Rockman 1)
10) Go Tell Aunt Rhody (Resident Evil 7)
11) Okami

12) We Are! (One Piece)*
13) Guren no Yumiya (Attack on Titan)*
14) At the End of a Long Escape (Resident Evil 6)


All in all, I had a fantastic time. Thank you to AnimeNext for allowing us to attend the Convention as press.  CAPCOM LIVE! for putting on one hell of a show.

CAPCOM LIVE! is currently on tour. For more information check the link below.


Leave a Reply